STEFAN SCHÖNING

STEFAN SCHÖNING

Stefan Schöning was born in Antwerp, Belgium in 1968 and graduated in product development at the Henry van de Velde Institute, Antwerp. He set up an office for industrial design in 1994, working for clients in Belgium, the Netherlands, Italy, Germany and the USA. In order to release personal ideas in limited editions he created the design label Polyline in 2001. more recently the studio has extended its activities with design on assignment, public & interior design, architecture and production.

Folder, a chair in true origami style, was his first project for Polyline in 2001. The folded polypropylene sheet which is cut, scored and folded into a chair has been exhibited in numerous places such as the National Design Museum in New York (USA), the Nike Design Library in Oregon (USA), Colette in Paris (France), at 100% Design in London (UK), at Salone Satellite in Milan (Italy) and is at present regularly invited to important exhibitions.

In 2004 he was awarded the contract to design, and develop a new corporate identity for the Belgian Railways. The principal idea of the design is to limit all visual litter and guide the traveller with ease and comfort, hence the use of soft, rounded corners and white as the main colour. The program has since travelled to exhibitions in Seoul (Korea), the Design Museum in Zürich (Switzerland), Interieur'06 in Kortrijk (Belgium) and received the IF Product Design Award, the Reddot Product Design Award and the Henry van de Velde Label 2006. The railway clock has also been exhibited at Global Edit/06, Wallpaper's 10th anniversary at the Armani Teatro in Milano (Italy) during the Salone del Mobile 2006.

Furthermore, the office was awarded the restyling of the 'traffic lights' for the Flemish Government. The adaptation of the design to all kinds of different traffic situations was one of the decisive plus-points in this competition. Likewise, the soft style, which diminishes aggression, was equally important to the jury. Also for this project the complete development has been effectuated by Stefan Schöning[studio].

www.stefanschoning.com

STEFAN SCHÖNING

STEFAN SCHÖNING

Stefan Schöning est né à Anvers en Belgique en 1968 et est diplômé en développement de produit à l’Institut Henry van de Velde à Anvers. En 1994, il a fondé un bureau de design industriel travaillant pour des clients en Belgique, aux Pays-Bas, en Italie, en Allemagne et aux Etats-Unis. Afin de pouvoir produire ses idées personnelles en éditions limitées, il a créé, en 2001, la marque de design Polyline. Plus récemment, le studio a enrichi ses activités avec du design sur attribution, du design d’intérieur et public, de l’architecture et de la production.

Folder, une chaise qui est une véritable œuvre d’origami, était son premier projet pour Polyline en 2001. La feuille de polypropylène pliée qui est taillée, rainurée et pliée pour former une chaise a été exposée dans de nombreux endroits comme le National Design Museum à New York (Etats-Unis), la Nike Design Library dans l’Orégon (Etats-Unis), Colette à Paris (France), 100% Design à Londres (Royaume-Uni), Salone Satellite à Milan (Italie) et elle est toujours régulièrement invitée à des expositions importantes.

En 2004, il s’est vu attribuer le contrat pour concevoir et développer une nouvelle identité d’entreprise pour les chemins de fer belges. L’idée principale du design est de limiter les détritus visuels et de guider le voyageur de manière facile et confortable, d’où l’utilisation d’angles arrondis et du blanc comme couleur principale. depuis lors, le programme a fait le tour du monde en participant à des expositions à Séoul (Corée), au Musée du Design à Zürich (Suisse) et à Interieur'06 à Courtrai (Belgique) et a reçu le Prix IF du Design, le prix Reddot du Design et le Label Henry van de Velde 2006. L’horloge des chemins de fer a également été exposée à Global Edit/06, le 10e anniversaire de Wallpaper* au Théâtre Armani à Milan (Italie) à l’occasion du Salone del Mobile 2006.

En outre, le studio a été chargé de relooker les «feux de circulation» pour le gouvernement flamand. La compatibilité du design avec toutes sortes de situations de circulation différentes a représenté un des avantages décisifs pour ce concours. De plus, le style doux qui réduit l’agression était tout aussi important pour le jury. Pour ce projet aussi, la totalité du processus de développement a été réalisée par Stefan Schöning[studio].

www.stefanschoning.com

 

Ontworpen door STEFAN SCHÖNING